What was added to the Federal Fair Housing as a protected class in 1974?

In 1974, Housing & Community Development Act added sex to the list of protected classes. … ADOPTED 5 protected classes – race, color, religion, national origin and sex. ADDED age, marital status and public assistance income.

What was added to the Fair Housing Act in 1974?

In 1974, the act was amended to add sex discrimination to the list of prohibited activities. The last major change to the act occurred in 1988 when it was amended to prohibit discrimination on the additional grounds of physical and mental handicap, as well as familial status.

Which protected class was added to the Housing and Community Development Act of 1974?

Section 109 of the HCD Act of 1974, Title I, prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, age, religion, and sex within Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) programs or activities.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can security guards use Mace?

What are the 7 protected classes for fair housing?

The Fair Housing Act makes it illegal to harass persons because of race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status, or national origin. Among other things, this forbids sexual harassment.

Which law added the condition of being handicapped to the Fair Housing protected classes?

Congress passed the Civil Rights Act of 1988 which added more protected classes to the 1968 Law and gave greater punishments to those who broke the law. The protected classes of handicap and familial status were added in 1988.

What is the Mrs Murphy exemption?

The Mrs. Murphy exemption applies to property owners that live in a dwelling with four or less families living independently of each other. If a tenant asserts their rights and claims a violation of the Fair Housing Act, a property owner may use this exemption as a defense.

What protected classes were added in 1988?

The Act made it illegal to discriminate in the sale or rental of housing on the grounds of race, color, religion, or national origin.

What is a person who is asked to simulate a housing transaction in order to obtain evidence of fair housing violations quizlet?

What is a person called who is asked to simulate a housing transaction in order to obtain evidence of fair housing violations? Sampler. Faux Buyer.

Which of these transactions is exempt from the federal Fair Housing Act?

A residential rental transaction can be exempt from the Fair Housing Act only if the property is a single-family home and the owner has no more than three such homes, or if the property has no more than four units and the owner is residing on the property.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is FTPS secure enough?

What are the 11 legally protected classes?

Federal protected classes include:

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • Religion or creed.
  • National origin or ancestry.
  • Sex (including gender, pregnancy, sexual orientation, and gender identity).
  • Age.
  • Physical or mental disability.
  • Veteran status.

What classes are not protected under federal law?

Under federal law, employers cannot discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, or disability.

What are the seven protected classes?

The new law expands the definition of “source of income” under California law. To briefly review, the federal Fair Housing Act (FHA) has seven protected classes, which include: race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, and familial status.