Best answer: What might be a barrier to safeguarding?

Common barriers to reporting included: fear of violence to the child; lack of certainty of diagnosis; and lack of confidence in their suspicions. Conclusion Barriers to the referral of suspected cases of abuse or neglect are still commonly reported.

What are the barriers to reporting abuse?

Those who have experienced abuse report numerous barriers to reporting including:

  • Feelings of shame, guilt and embarrassment.
  • Perceived negative consequences of reporting.
  • Fear of retaliation by the perpetrator.
  • Financial dependence upon the perpetrator.
  • The perpetrators not allowing help.

What are the 4 key aspects of safeguarding?

Safeguarding children and child protection

  • protecting children from abuse and maltreatment.
  • preventing harm to children’s health or development.
  • ensuring children grow up with the provision of safe and effective care.
  • taking action to enable all children and young people to have the best outcomes.

What are the five main areas of safeguarding?

The 5 most recognised forms of abuse are defined in the UK Government guidance Working Together to Safeguard Children (2016) as follows:

  • • Physical. This harm is not accidental. …
  • • Emotional. This is sometimes called psychological abuse. …
  • • Neglect. …
  • • Sexual. …
  • • Bullying. …
  • Want more?
IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: How do I allow Avast popups?

What should you not do during safeguarding?


  • promise confidentiality.
  • ask leading or probing questions.
  • investigate.
  • repeatedly question or ask the girl to repeat the disclosure.
  • discuss the disclosure with people who do not need to know.
  • delay in reporting the disclosure to the Safeguarding team.

What is a barrier to disclosure?

Barriers for the victim: feelings of shame and embarrassment; fear or experience of a negative response to disclosure; attitudes to sexuality, masculinity and gender; uncertainty about what is abusive; and difficulty communicating child sexual abuse.

Which of the following are barriers to disclosure?

Barriers to disclosure

  • Fear of more abuse.
  • Shame or humiliation.
  • Blame.
  • Loss of affection or love for abuser.
  • Concerned about repercussions.
  • Family loyalty.
  • Fear of being moved out of home.
  • May not realise that abuse is occurring.

What are the 6 principles of safeguarding?

What are the six principles of safeguarding?

  • Empowerment. People being supported and encouraged to make their own decisions and informed consent.
  • Prevention. It is better to take action before harm occurs.
  • Proportionality. The least intrusive response appropriate to the risk presented.
  • Protection. …
  • Partnership. …
  • Accountability.

What are the 3 basic principles for safeguarding information?

Prevention – It is better to take action before harm occurs. “I receive clear and simple information about what abuse is, how to recognise the signs and what I can do to seek help.” Proportionality – Proportionate and least intrusive response appropriate to the risk presented.

What happens if you get reported to safeguarding?

The Safeguarding Lead Worker will work with you and other important people to put together a plan that keeps you safe. This is called a Protection Plan. If the plan involves changes to the support or care you receive, then this plan will be agreed with you. You can say what help or support you need.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What should be in a security incident report?

How do you identify safeguarding issues?

Through monitoring these signs and reviewing them regularly you may identify a safeguarding issue. Indicators to record include changes in physical wellbeing, signs of distress or illness, and noticeable changes such as weight gain or weight loss.

What are the 7 types of abuse?

The 7 types of elder abuse are:

  • Physical abuse.
  • Sexual abuse.
  • Emotional or psychological abuse.
  • Neglect.
  • Abandonment.
  • Financial abuse.
  • Self-neglect.